Love Letter to a Protagonist

Dear Storm,

I felt compelled to write to you because I know I am putting you through a really tough time right now. Probably the toughest time you will experience in your life.

I want to tell you everything will be okay. I don’t know exactly how things will work out, but they will. But trust me that you will come out the other end much stronger than you are now. And I think I will too.

I fell in love with you the moment I saw a photograph of what you and your kind look like. Those eyes! Piercing and full of life and mystery. Your beautiful fur, your super-power-like ability to stay warm in the cold, your sense of adventure, curiosity, your bravery… You are an extraordinary creature.

It gives me a thrill when I think that for now, our relationship is secret, just between you and me, and no one knows you as well as I do. I have you all to myself! I love learning about you. Every day brings something new: something you say, do, or even a look. I never know what to expect. As you grow older and your story continues I care about you more and more.

I think you will remain frolicking through my thoughts well after your story comes to a close. Will it close? The impression you have had on me suggests not. At least, your story might close on the page but it won’t close in my heart.

So please stay strong, my Storm. Even though you may feel dreadfully alone right now, I am with you every step of the way.

Much Love,

Dana

Leave a Reply

