Hello to an old friend

I am fortunate to work in a building with an ecology lab. I have to pass by the lab on my way to the mailroom, and I always peek through the open door to see their wildlife posters, their big stuffed horned owl sitting authoritatively on its perch, and all the sample jars and lab paraphernalia on the lab tables. 

Once in a while they offer workshops. Yesterday they offered a workshop on nature sketching. I jumped at the chance. 

I used to draw and sketch a lot up until the end of highschool. Art was one of my favourite classes. I especially loved doing stippling (small dots) with black pen. I’m not sure what happened, but I started to sketch less and less until I didn’t sketch at all.

I was excited for the workshop because I’ve been wanting an excuse/opportunity/reason to sketch again. As I sat at the ecology lab tables waiting for the workshop to begin, it was like waiting to meet up with an old friend you haven’t seen in years.

I promised I wouldn’t be too hard on myself. It’s not about drawing perfectly. Getting back on the drawing bike, I might be a bit wobbly. Or a lot wobbly. And if I fall I’ll get right back up again.

We sketched black-capped chickadees and winter green. And a bird I forget the name of. It was as if my brain let out a big sigh. 

I’m not sure how I’ll carve out time to sketch. But at least I can start by buying a black pen and paper today.

Leave a Reply

