Sometimes a kick in the pants feels good

This weekend I attended CANSCAIP’s Packaging Your Imagination conference. It was my first time attending the event and it certainly won’t be my last. Inspiring talks! Tons of information and advice! And a particularly special component: the One-to-One Evaluations.

I submitted a partial manuscript to be evaluated by one of the conference’s selected editors from a Canadian publishing house. I would receive a 15-minute consultation and feedback. 

The moment I submitted my work online before the conference I thought, “Yes! I need this! It will be awesome!”

My thoughts as the clock ticked down to my scheduled consultation time: “What was I thinking? What I submitted is crap!

Well, deep down I knew it wasn’t necessarily crap. But there was a niggling feeling in my gut that the work I submitted lacked something. Maybe a big something. And I couldn’t put my finger on it.

A little shaky and a lot nervous, my scheduled time came. I listened to what the editor had to say. He asked a lot of questions, all of which I answered (phew!), and then he gave some advice.

And then a funny thing happened: he verbalized that “something” that was missing from my work. I won’t go into the gory details but I walked away a lot less nervous and a lot more determined. Re-write. And read. Read, read, read.

So thank you to the editor and for CANSCAIP for giving me the kick in the pants I needed. My work is not crap, but a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

