Welcome to early morning walks…and lots of other life changes

This morning I went for a walk at 6 a.m.

Why?

Because of this:


Yes, a puppy! My husband and I took the plunge. The kids are ecstatic. The house feels so much warmer.

She’s nine pounds of border collie and Labrador, and a ton of steal-your-heart. We named her Spirit–an homage to our wonderful old border collie Lab who passed away about a year and a half ago. Plus, she seems to have a beautiful spirit: curious, loving, sensitive, and smart. (My daughter started crying over some perceived injustice and Spirit immediately sat in her lap. Spirit already walks well on a leash, and knows that a hand in my pocket equals treats!)

I’m sitting here in my bookstore/coffee shop with 75% of my brain distracted by the fact that I can’t stay long because Spirit is at home in her crate. Almost like leaving your child with a babysitter for the first time: you relish the temporary freedom but you can’t help worrying…

And my brain is like a foggy windshield, temporarily swiped clear by caffeinated washer fluid. At eight weeks, Spirit’s bladder only lasts 3 hours, tops. Baby-induced late nights have returned!

At 6 a.m., Spirit was full of beans and ready to go. We went for a walk. I forgot just how quiet and full of peace the world outside can be when it is dark and everyone is still asleep. I soaked up the windless mild air and the fact that there was a little black furball bounce-running beside me, everything new and wonderful and amazing. She didn’t care what time it was.

And you know what? I didn’t care what time it was either.

With two kids and a new pup, the days will be longer and leisure time will be scarce. At least for a while. 

Then I feel a little body curl up on my feet, or hear my son and daughter laughing, and I know it is all totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

