Sit. Stay.

As I write this, there is a sleeping puppy in my lap.

I was busy cleaning the kitchen of dirty supper dishes, preparing lunches for tomorrow, and thinking of 39485938457 things that I still needed to do when I happened to look down and saw Spirit sitting on the floor, looking up at me with her I’ll-melt-you eyes.

I put down the dishcloth. I sat cross-legged on the kitchen floor and little Spirit happily bounded into my lap. She flopped down with a satisfied sigh.

And you know what? I sighed, too.

I breathed.

With puppy in my lap, I just sat and let my 39485938457 thoughts swirl down the drain.

I stroked Spirit’s fur. Felt her warm body on my legs. Marvelled at how soft the fur on her ears are. Soaked up the quiet.

Spirit fell asleep. I fell into peace.

Puppies can sure make a household busy. Crazy busy. But at the same time, I realize that they can teach you to stop, breathe, and enjoy the moment.

No matter how busy you are, you can always take the time to stop and love your puppy.

One thought on “Sit. Stay.

Leave a Reply

